Dai Webinar: “Rehabilitation For Dementia: Evidence & Opportunities”, November 28/29, 2018 Tickets

http://bit.ly/2DFS43s

DAI “A Meeting Of The Minds” Webinar, November 28/29, 2018

Topic: “Rehabilitation for dementia: Evidence & Opportunities

Presenter: Associate professor Lee-Fay Low

  • Wednesday, November 28, 2018 (USA/CA/UK/EU)

  • Thursday, November 29, 2018 (AU/NZ/JP/SGP/TWN)

Please note: this is one event, set in a number of different time zones.

About the Webinar: Rehabilitation for dementia: evidence and opportunities

The World Health Organisation has defined rehabilitation as “a set of measures that assist individuals, who experience or are likely to experience disability, to achieve and maintain optimum functioning in interaction with their environments”. Research and practice relating to dementia is predominantly focused on prevention, disease-modifying treatment, and care. This presentation will review the current evidence for rehabilitation strategies (e.g. exercise, cognitive training, occupational therapy) in dementia, and outline several ongoing studies. Barriers to rehabilitation for dementia will also be presented.

About A/Professor Low: Lee-Fay Low (BSc Psych (Hons), PhD) is Associate Professor in Ageing and Health, NHMRC Boosting Dementia Research Leadership Development Fellow, and Head of Behavioural and Social Sciences in Health in the Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Sydney. She is a registered psychologist with a PhD in psychiatric epidemiology.

A/Prof Low conducts research that she hopes will make a difference in the world.

Her main areas of expertise are in home and residential care for older people, wellbeing in people with dementia, dementia risk factors for dementia, dementia literacy, and people from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds. She is particularly interested in developing and evaluating interventions to improve the quality of life of older people. She has methodological skills in population studies, systematic reviews, clustered randomised trials, instrument development and evaluation, and translation of research into practice.

She has authored over 100 peer-reviewed articles, as well as two books on dementia. She is an active advocate in improving how older people are treated and cared for. Lee-Fay thinks that research is great fun, and even admits to liking statistics.

Please note: this webinar may not be made publicly available after the event; the Q & A sessions are never made publicly available to view.

Wednesday, November 28, 2018 – times (USA/UK/EU/CA):

10:00 am Honolulu
12:00 pm Oregon Portland/San Francisco USA
12:00 pm Vancouver CA
2:00 pm Des Moines/Chicago USA
3:00 pm New York USA
3:00 pm Toronto CA
8:00 pm London/Glasgow UK
9:00 pm Paris, Munich, Amsterdam, EU

Thursday, November 29, 2018 – times (AU/NZ/JP/IND/TWN):

6:00 am Adelaide AU
6:30 am Brisbane AU
7:00 am Sydney/Melbourne/Canberra/Tasmania AU
4:00 am Perth AU/Taipei TWN
5:00 am Tokyo, JP
9:00 am Auckland, NZ

The webinar runs for 1 hour.

Check your time if not listed above by using this link: https://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/fixedtime.html?msg=DAI+Webinar%3A+%22Reghabilitaiton+%26+Dementia%22%2C+November+28%2F29%2C+2018&iso=20181129T07&p1=240&ah=1

COST TO ATTEND:

  • FREE for DAI members and their care partner (if you have dementia, please join here: www.joindai.org
  • $40 USD for all others
  • $20:00 USD Students (FT, unemployed)
  • DONATION (this is not in lieu of a paid ticket, if you do not fit into the FREE ticket category)

THE SMALL FEE PAID FOR SOME ATTENDEES OF THIS EVENT IS GREATLY APPRECIATED.

WEBINAR FEES AND DONATIONS ARE OUR ONLY SOURCE OF REGULAR REVENUE. WITHOUT THEM, DAI COULD NOT PROVIDE THE SERVICES WE PROVIDE CURRENTLY FOR MEMBERS, THEIR FAMILIES & THE GLOBAL COMMUNITY.

  • $US 5.00 covers the average cost of one of our monthly bank fees
  • $US 60.00 covers the average of the cost of our monthly Zoom subscription fee
  • $US 120.00 covers the average monthly cost of the MailChimp subscription
  • $US 300.00 covers the current cost of 3 months of website management fees

PLEASE DONATE HERE: https://www.dementiaallianceinternational.org/donate/

If you need a certificate of attendance, please email us at info@infodai.org

Note: the Q&A session at the end of our webinars are never available publicly, and therefore will not be available after the event. Some webinars are available on our YouTube channel, but not all depending on each presenter, or the quality of the recording.

Leave a Reply